The Monster of Black Wind Mountain

The Monster of Black Wind Mountain  (黑风山的妖怪)

“The Monster of Black Wind Mountain” is the 7th book in the “Journey to the West” series of stories by Jeff Pepper and Xiao Hui Wang. Other titles include “Rise of the Monkey King”, “The Immortal Peaches” and “The Young Monk”.
This book is part of the Journey to the West series of stories for students learning to read Chinese. It is based on the epic 16th century novel of the same name by Wu Chen’en. The novel is loosely based on an actual journey by the Buddhist monk Tangsheng (formerly called Xuanzang), who traveled from the Chinese city of Chang’an westward to India in 629 A.D. and returned 17 years later with priceless knowledge and spiritual texts. Over the course of the book Tangsheng and his companions face the 81 tribulations that Tangsheng had to endure to attain Buddhahood.

This, the seventh book in the series, tells the story of the first few months of the journey itself. Tangsheng is accompanied by his disciple, the short-tempered Monkey King Sun Wukong. They first encounter a mysterious river-dwelling dragon, then run into serious trouble while staying in the temple of a 270 year old abbot. Their troubles deepen when they meet the abbot’s friend, a terrifying black bear monster.

The story is written using a limited 1200 word vocabulary, roughly equivalent to HSK 4. It is presented in simplified Chinese characters and pinyin, and includes an English version and complete glossary. A free audio version of this book and all other books in this series is available on YouTube and also on our website,

Listen to this entire book for free, on YouTube : or download the file directly here.